One Does Not Simply…Write About Anthropology

My Time as a Graduate Student

Wordless Wednesday – Planetary Anthropology?

on April 10, 2013

This is interesting, but I don’t know if I would agree with the title. What do you think?

This was going through my head the entire time of this video.

aliens.nar

 

2 responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Planetary Anthropology?

  1. Michelle P says:

    Hi Tina 🙂

    It is really funny that I stumbled upon your blog, as I am an anthropology student at GMU but I am currently in the library of UMW working on my Anthropology paper on “What is Anthropology?” very broad, I know 🙂

    I am about to graduate this semester, but I do have a few questions:
    – What made you decide to study anthropology?
    – How difficult is it to find a job in your field? (I am worried about the future, and all I could think of doing is going to grad school)
    -What is anthropology to you?

    I know that since being an anthropology major, I tend to question every aspect of life and human behavior, and sometimes it gets in the way of life, but also makes it enjoyable.

    Thanks for your blog,
    Michelle

    • Tina Estep says:

      That is very exciting. I did my undergraduate work at UMW.
      To be honest I always loved archaeology, it has always fascinated me. But what really sparked my interest in anthropology as a whole, was my Anthro 101 class with Dr. Gable. His class exposed me to other cultures and human behaviors that it all just clicked for me. From there I took as many anthropology courses I could within the department and went to conferences. I also took classes in Historic Preservation for the archaeology interest I had. But my interests stayed in Cultural Anthro and that is what I am doing in Graduate School, studying to be a cultural anthropologist.

      My research is structuralist analysis of Lord of the Rings, so that is exciting.

      As far as jobs, honestly as an anthropologists you can do anything. Contrary to popular thought. The obvious is teaching, but you will need to at least go to grad school for that. But the government also hires many anthropologists because of the skill set that you learn to be an anthropologist. Like museums, federal government, and the military. Right now my interests after grad school is to teach either at a college level or within the Marine Corps as a civilian.

      I mean it is hard to find a job in anywhere, it doesn’t matter what discipline with our economy.

      Hopefully that answers some of your questions. Feel free to email at ccestep@gmail.com or find me on facebook. I will be happy to go more into depth about anthropology and answer any more questions.

      Tina

Leave a Reply

