One Does Not Simply…Write About Anthropology

My Time as a Graduate Student

Writing More

on February 26, 2013

I know that I have been lacking in the thesis update department, but I do plan to get better at that. This week for Research and Design, we are working on building our literary review for our thesis. This is actually suppose to be a practice run of sorts. But the idea is to also improve our writing skills as potential scholars. Tonight we were discussing how important it is to practice our writing skills and ways to improve our writing skills. Personally I love writing. I am much better at writing by far than testing. I would also prefer to write a 25 page research paper than take a test, its not because I don’t know the information or the material, its because I get horrible testing anxiety that I blank out on tests. So writing is what I like to do. With that said, I know that I am not the best when it comes to grammar. I am frequently reminded by my fiance who looks over my papers. But when I do take the time to write a paper for whatever class or conference it may be, I do go back and edit my work. The tendency that I do have is that I like to write whatever comes to mind at that moment and time. It works at that moment, but I do put it away for a few hours to a day and then I go back to edit my work.

One of the tips that the professor expressed tonight was to write all the time and to practice writing even if there isn’t any purpose to it. So it got me thinking that I should do this as well through the use of this blog. I do intend to be better at posting more on here especially with thesis updates. This weekend I will post more updates on that subject. I do hope though that people who do read my blog have enjoyed what I have posted thus far. Well back to the grind stone!

One response to “Writing More

  1. fnovember says:

    I can relate. Only, it wasn’t until after graduate school that I decided to pursue my writing endeavors. So, follow the only advice worth knowing – write more.

Leave a Reply

